Understanding the server update process
When Sellercloud adds a new feature, or a fix occurs, this usually requires a server update to implement these changes. You will be notified that this is required and then an update request will be submitted by Sellercloud Support.
The workflow for this process looks like:
- A new feature is added to Sellercloud, or an update to a current feature occurs.
- Sellercloud Support contacts you to let you know that it’s necessary to perform a server update to access the new feature.
- Sellercloud Support submits an update request with the status Pending Approval. This status will change to Approved as soon as an updated, stable version of Sellercloud is tested and approved by the Project Manager.
- You will receive an email from the Support Portal when the update is Approved.
- Your update is Completed.
After the server update is complete, you can view the Last Write date/time of your Sellercloud account to confirm the date/time of your account’s latest updated version. The Last Write date/time should be after the date/time the change was added for you to see the update on your Sellercloud account.
Understanding the processing time of server updates
While Sellercloud Support will do their best to have the changes implemented in a timely manner, the process to update your server may take a while. There are a few reasons why it may take a while for your server update to be approved, such as:
- New integrations or changes from channels or workflow need to be tested
- Busy times of year, like the Holidays, can impact workflow and cause delays
- There are three types of servers (Shared, Dedicated, and Client Hosted)
- Shared: If you’re on a shared server, updating an issue for you may also impact the other clients who share your server.
- Client Hosted: These servers need to be update manually, and it may take a while to perform a manual update.
- Prioritization of critical fixes over enhancements and minor issues