Disconnect vs Disable Inventory for Channel Listings


Overview

The Disconnect Inventory and Disable Inventory options both control the inventory sent to channels. The main difference is that a disconnected inventory does not send inventory updates, whereas a disabled inventory sends inventory updates with a quantity of zero.


Disconnect Inventory

Sellercloud will regularly update your listings according to the currently available quantities. However, if you want to disconnect the inventory feed (if, for example, you have a different system to update listings, or you are running a daily deal that absolutely cannot oversell), Sellercloud will not send any quantities to the channel. In this case, the last sent quantity will remain on the channel.

The option only works only if you enable the Allow Disconnect Inventory from Channels client setting from Settings > Client Settings > General Client Settings.

You can disconnect inventory manually or in bulk.

Manually

  1. Go to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Open a product.
  2. From the Toolbox, select Channels > *Channel* Properties.
  3. Click on the Actions menu and select Disconnect From Inventory.
    Note: After a product is disconnected, a Connect to Inventory option will appear in the Actions menu. Re-enabling the product will start sending the aggregate quantity to channels.The image shows the Actions menu.

In Bulk

  1. Go to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Select products > Action menu > Disconnect from Inventory.The image shows the Disconnect from Inventory option.
  2. From the pop-up window, select the channel you want to disconnect the inventory from and click Update.The image shows the pop-up window.

You can also disconnect inventory via a bulk update by using column headers. Type in the header name based on the channel (DisconnectFromInventoryAmazon for Amazon), and enter True in the column.

To view items that are disconnected from the channels, go to Catalog > Tools > Disconnected Inventory.


Disable Inventory

When a product is not enabled but has an existing listing, Sellercloud will still make inventory updates with zero quantity.

You can disable inventory manually or in bulk.

Manually

  1. Go to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Open a product.
  2. From the Toolbox, select Channels > *Channel* Properties.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. In the General panel, uncheck the box Enabled, and click Save.The image shows the Enabled box.

In Bulk

  1. Go to Catalog > Manage Catalog > Select products > Action menu > Enable/Disable for Channel.
  2. In the pop-up window, select a channel, select Disable, and click Update.The image shows the Enable/Disable pop-up window.

You can also disable inventory with a bulk update using column headers depending on the channel, such as AmazonEnabled for Amazon, and then enter False in the column.

Overview

Depending on what you are trying to achieve, there are two options to help you control your inventory levels:

  • Disabled for channel (Amazon and eBay only) — When a product is not enabled for Amazon or eBay but has an existing listing, Sellercloud will still make inventory updates with 0 quantity.
    This only works when Allow Inventory Update is enabled for Amazon or eBay on the channel settings page.
  • Disconnected from channel – If you disconnect the inventory feed, Sellercloud will not send any quantities to the channel. In this case, the last sent quantity will remain on the channel. Learn more about disconnecting inventory from channels.

Disconnect Inventory from Channels

Sellercloud will regularly update your listings according to the currently available quantities. However, if you want to disconnect the inventory feed when, for example, you have a different system to update listings, or you are running a daily deal that absolutely cannot oversell, do as follows:

  1. From Settings > Client Settings, enable Allow Disconnect Inventory from Channels.
  • On the product level — Open the channel properties page and from the Action menu, select Disconnect from Inventory.
  • From the Manage Inventory page — Select the products you want to disconnect, click on the Action menu, and press Disconnect from Inventory. On the following page, open the dropdown and choose which channel to disconnect the inventory > Go, or choose Disconnect from all channels > Go.
  • To bulk-update — Use the column header DisconnectFromInventoryAmazon, for example, and enter True in the column.
  1. After a product is disconnected, a Reconnect option will appear in the Action Menu.
  2. To view items that are disconnected from channels, open the Disconnected Inventory page on the Inventory menu.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles